Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have just installed Suse 9.1 (succesfully) and it recognizes my ethernet card but doesn't see my DSL modem. I've tried to configure it thru Yast but I am a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

SuSE 9.1 and DSL help???????

I have just installed Suse 9.1 (succesfully) and it recognizes my ethernet card but doesn't see my DSL modem. I've tried to configure it thru Yast but I am a complete noob (blank slate) to (SuSE) Linux. If anyone could help me so I could set up my internet as I am an internet freak and I need to run Yast update. In XP I had the following info I had to set up my connection with:
    IP Address
    Subnet Mask
    Default Gateway
    DNS Primary
    DNS Alternate
    Since I am a noobie I also am not extremely confident with running command lines and all that stuff.
    Please help!

Just Joined!
    I'm also trying to set up the network on my (newly installed) suse linux 9.1 machine. We already have a windows network with cable internet, we're trying to connect the linux computer to the existing network.

Just Joined!
    You need a router if you're connecting other machine on a LAN and want those machine to access Internet. Some DSL modems function as routers as well, if that's the case then all your Internet packets need to be addressed to the modem, otherwise you need a hardware router or a computer that acts as a router. For example my DSL modem is also a router:

DSL IP address: 10.0.0.2

So to access Internet my machine has the following settings:

IP address: 10.0.0.16
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 10.0.0.2

DNS is setup in the file "/etc/resolv.conf"

athlon1000:/home/roman # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    #domain local
    #nameserver 10.0.0.2

#nameserver 198.32.64.12
    #nameserver 193.0.14.129

nameserver 213.162.97.253
    nameserver 213.162.97.66
    athlon1000:/home/roman #

Just Joined!