Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi all I am having a weird issue... I created a NSF share on a CentOS4.2 Then mounted on a rPath LAMP on VMWare I see the files on CentOS ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    4

    File Size Limit Exceeded


    Hi all

    I am having a weird issue...

    I created a NSF share on a CentOS4.2

    Then mounted on a rPath LAMP on VMWare
    I see the files on CentOS and can create folders and zero length files

    however any file i try to copy to the mounted folder or any subfolder gives me a File Size Limit Exceeded and the file is created with ZERO bytes

    ulimit -f returns "unlimited"
    the problem does not seem to be related to the limit itself
    I searched this and all posts i saw refered to the 2GB limit.

    btw if I create a samba share on CentOS and the mount using smbfs it works but it's a bit of a roundabout.

    any ideias on this?

    Thanks in advance
    Best Regards

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie framp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    240
    I just had the same problem. I moved from NFS-2 to NFS-3 and the 2GB boundary was gone It's a different story with samba which I didn't invest further because I want to use nfs because it's faster than samba.
    "Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect." Linus Benedict Torvalds

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Hi,
    It´s not a 2GB boundary issue, even a small file - 1 byte!, it gets truncated!
    it's weird

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie framp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    240
    Hm ... so the file name is created - but no data copied... I suggest to check the file/directory authorizations in the directory you want to copy the data.
    "Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect." Linus Benedict Torvalds

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    that's not it either, i can create, rename and even delete the files

    permissions are 777 on the server, and i checked "Treat remote root user as local root"

    i have to try this from another Linux machine, it may be a rPath issue
    i will also check if there´s any updates
    Thanks

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    4
    Hi again

    There seems to be an issue with this specific appliance (or at least mine), using the sugarCRM appliance works...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •