Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am using two network cards, one wireless to connect to the internet and a wired to connect to my laptop. The problem is that when I connect via wireless ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934

    using both wireless and wired connections


    I am using two network cards, one wireless to connect to the internet and a wired to connect to my laptop. The problem is that when I connect via wireless I cannot connect wired and vice versa. How can I fix this one on openSuSE 10.2?
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie dilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, GB
    Posts
    237
    Can you post the output of the programs "ifconfig -a" or maybe "/sbin/ifconfig -a" and "arp -en" or "/sbin/arp -en"?
    Bus Error: Passengers dumped. Hech gap yo'q.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0A:E6:0B1:E2
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0xd000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:B6:9E:98:60
    inet addr:192.168.178.23 Bcast:192.168.178.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::216:b6ff:fe9e:9860/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:26959 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:20129 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:18336009 (17.4 Mb) TX bytes:2074800 (1.9 Mb)
    Interrupt:11 Memory:dfff8000-dfffa000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3912 (3.8 Kb) TX bytes:3912 (3.8 Kb)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Code:
    arp -en
    Address HWtype HWaddress Flags Mask Iface
    192.168.178.1 ether 00:15:0C:30:51:13 C eth1
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie dilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire, GB
    Posts
    237
    One card hasn't got assigned an IP address, so this card can't run TCP/IP what your network is based on.

    I presume there is some implicit software setup that assigns only one IP address to one card.

    Easiest way would be to change this setup.

    Otherwise you would need to assign an IP address yourself by running on the command line as root "ifconfig eth0 192.168.178.x".

    "x" depends on the peer that is connected to this particular card. "x" must be different than the IP address of the computer you are trying to connect to but stay within the range of the netmask. See the second line of eth1 saying "Mask:255.255.255.0".

    To get a picture what is what, you can look for the first three bytes of the MAC address (or HWaddr) of the particular card.

    This 00:0A:E6 for eth0
    and 00:16:B6 for eth1.

    I presume that order is static, because the assignment of ethx depends of the order of recognition by the kernel. The first card recognised gets eth0, the next one eth1 and so forth. I presume that the wired network cards gets always eth0 first after boot-up.

    If you look up a site with vendor MAC addresses like

    http://standards.ieee.org/regauth/oui/oui.txt

    it tells you that

    the card associated with eth0 is from Elitegroup Computer System Co. (ECS), having 00:0A:E6.

    Knowing what Ethernet port is wired and which one wireless you can look what IP address the peer (the laptop e.g.) has and the then assign a different IP address but within that range, in this case only an "x" different than that from the peer.

    But look up first this peer's IP address as this peer could run a completely different IP address like "10.10.10.2" e.g.

    "arp -en" now shows only an entry for eth1 and the IP address of the peer that eth1 is connected to.
    If it works properly, there must be a second line with an entry also for eth0 showing the IP of the peer that eth0 would be connected to.

    If you got any questions simply ask again.
    Bus Error: Passengers dumped. Hech gap yo'q.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    It sounds like you are using Network Manager. It's a great app but it's more suited to single connections. If this is the case I would recommend configuring your network in YaST manually and instructing it to use the "traditional if up method"

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    I actually use Network Manager. Thanks both for replying
    Quote Originally Posted by dilbert View Post
    One card hasn't got assigned an IP address, so this card can't run TCP/IP what your network is based on.

    I presume there is some implicit software setup that assigns only one IP address to one card.
    My wireless card gets ip address from my router, that's why it looks like it hasn't got assigned an IP address. I am going to try using the "traditional if up method"
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •