Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a Gigabyte 8KNXP wotherboard which has an integrated NIC. My installation of RedHat 9.0 does not see the card?? So I would think I need to install the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RH 9.0 and Cannot see NIC?

I have a Gigabyte 8KNXP wotherboard which has an integrated NIC. My installation of RedHat 9.0 does not see the card?? So I would think I need to install the proper drivers or so. I searched google and chcked Gigabyte's site and did not find drivers for the nic. Where can I find these? I am a newbie here just installed Linux a day ago, any help appreciated.

Just Joined!

I think it is the e1000 module

I searched for your motherboard and it appears to use the Intel i875p chipset. That chipset has an Intel PRO/1000 ethernet card built in, which is supported by the e1000 kernel module. You can try it by first seeing if you have the module.
    Code:
     $ locate e1000.o
    It should be in a directory starting with /lib/modules. If you find it, you can while logged into root , try to see if the module is loaded.
    Code:
    $ lsmod
    If you do not see e1000 in the list try to load it.
    Code:
    $ modprobe e1000
    Use dmesg to see if there are any messages saying that it loaded. You can then try redhat-confiig-network and see if the card is visible.

Just Joined!
    when i type modprobe e1000 I get :

/lib/modules/2.4.20-8/kernel/drivers/net/e1000/e1000.o init_module: No such device
    Hint:insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including IO or IRQ parameters
    You may find more information in syslog or the output from /lib/modules/2.4.20-8/kernel/drivers/net/e1000/e1000.o" insmod /lib/modules/2.4.20-8/kernel/drivers/net/e1000/e1000.o : inmod e1000 failed

I read about tainted modules but do not understand too well. i am 1 day new to linux with a windows(ugh, I know) development background.