Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have two system one loaded with Fedora Core 6 and other with Ubuntu 7.04, So I wanna setup a LAN connection between the two PCs for easy file sharing, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Anant Khaitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MANIT, Bhopal
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy LAN Connection


    I have two system one loaded with Fedora Core 6 and other with Ubuntu 7.04, So I wanna setup a LAN connection between the two PCs for easy file sharing, internet sharing and others if any.. So if anyone can guide me through the steps/equipments required. Presently I just have a Ethernet wire(RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+), I don't want to go to hardware shop for Router or Hub or whateva if possible. Let me also inform you that I am a complete noob in this networking thing/LAN etc. so detailed instruction will be appreciated

  2. #2
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    Fine. If you don't want internet sharing and if you are concerned about communicating between the two systems, a single RJ45 cable is enuf. You can straight away connect.

    But if you need Internet sharing,
    either you need two NICs on one system (to which Internet cable is connected) and another system with one NIC. So that the system with two NICs can do the job of a router.

    Or a router with minimum two ports to connect both the systems to it. So that both can be connected to Internet.
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Anant Khaitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MANIT, Bhopal
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberinstru View Post
    Fine. If you don't want internet sharing and if you are concerned about communicating between the two systems, a single RJ45 cable is enuf. You can straight away connect
    Ok communicating includes File sharing I hope.. so please elaborate the steps..I have heard of Samba and NFS but have no idea how to use them..
    Thanks in advance..

  4. #4
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    Yes, File Sharing is very much possible.

    Setup:

    FC6 ------------------ Ubuntu
    (10.0.0.1/24) (10.0.0.2/24)

    Say, you want to share files from FC6, directory /home/dad.
    1. vi /etc/exports
    2. Enter this line: /home/dad 10.0.0.2(rw,sync,no_root_squash)
    3. Save and close the file
    4. Start nfs service: /etc/init.d/nfs start

    Now goto Ubuntu:
    Say, you want to mount the directory on /media/network folder.
    1. mount 10.0.0.1:/home/dad /media/network
    2. Done.

    Hope this helps.

    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Anant Khaitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MANIT, Bhopal
    Posts
    8

    Red face

    ^^
    Tell me how do I assign/know the IP addresses of system.
    Well ifconfig returns:
    1> FC6
    Code:
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:2728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:11363572 (10.8 MiB)  TX bytes:11363572 (10.8 MiB)
    
    ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
              inet addr:172.28.49.13  P-t-P:10.64.64.64  Mask:255.255.255.255
              UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:2600 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2788 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
              RX bytes:1825112 (1.7 MiB)  TX bytes:396448 (387.1 KiB)
    2> This in Ubuntu
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C0:9F:95:A8:79  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
              Interrupt:18 Base address:0x8800 
    
    eth0:avah Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C0:9F:95:A8:79  
              inet addr:169.254.8.187  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              Interrupt:18 Base address:0x8800 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:437 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:437 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:44772 (43.7 KiB)  TX bytes:44772 (43.7 KiB)

  6. #6
    Linux User cyberinstru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    362
    ifconfig <interface_name> <ip_address> <netmask>
    ---------------------------------
    Registered Linux User #440311
    HI2ARUN _AT_ GMAIL _DOT_ COM
    ---------------------------------

  7. #7
    Just Joined! Anant Khaitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MANIT, Bhopal
    Posts
    8

    Red face

    ^^
    This will assign the IP for my computer or guest computer..
    I issued this:
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/ifconfig eth0 10.0.0.2 24
    on FC6 box and
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth0 10.0.0.1 24
    on Ubuntu

    and did what u said in post no. #4 but it is returning
    Code:
    mount: special device 10.0.0.2/<folder> does not exist

  8. #8
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Both Fedora 6 and Ubuntu use NetworkManager. I would say all you need to do is get your ethernet cable (make sure it is a crossover cable, as you are not using a hub!!).

    Then just plug in and let NetworkManager do its thing. I have configured several point to point connections this way and it never fails. You can use samba to communicate, and ssh is great too. In fact if you are using Gnome open Nautilus, click on the icon to enter the address by hand and try this
    Code:
    ssh://username@192.168.0.1
    Where you input your username and the IP address of the other PC. You will connect to file sharing over ssh. Encrypted!

  9. #9
    Just Joined! Anant Khaitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    MANIT, Bhopal
    Posts
    8

    Red face

    ^^
    Now you pointed me right.. I noticed that I was not having a crossover cable, anyways I can make my own ..I have my clipper, wire, pins and .....


    which one should I go for

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •