Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Originally Posted by Manuuz put this in your /etc/samba.smb.conf (or /etc/smb.conf) Does SAMBA have to be a DC or ADC for windoz clients if just for folder sharing? And if ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Manuuz View Post
    put this in your /etc/samba.smb.conf (or /etc/smb.conf)
    Does SAMBA have to be a DC or ADC for windoz clients if just for folder sharing? And if as DC or ADC, I guess some kerberos libs have to be installed and configured for samba?

    Thanks!

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Manuuz View Post
    - when a user logins to his own machine, the above 3 types of folders should be automatically mounted on his local machine for him to access. put a mapping on the users desktop, or execute it automaticcaly when logging in...
    I guess this is for windoz, which takes care of connecting to samba folders and mapping to local drives.

    What about Linux users? How to auto mount these 3 types of folders when a linux account logs in?

    Thanks!

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5
    SMB HOWTO: Accessing an SMB Share With Linux Machines

    or you can use something like LinNeighborhood

    And here a list of other easy tools (konqueror!!!!!)
    SAMBA - opening windows to a wider world

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by licht View Post
    I guess this is for windoz, which takes care of connecting to samba folders and mapping to local drives.

    What about Linux users? How to auto mount these 3 types of folders when a linux account logs in?

    Thanks!
    Once you get Samba configured properly it will detect and mount the shares for you, try using Konqueror to browse the shares
    smb://IP.address/sharedfoldername
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Once you get Samba configured properly it will detect and mount the shares for you, try using Konqueror to browse the shares
    smb://IP.address/sharedfoldername
    So, you mean the only thing for client to do is to have Konqueror browse "smb://IP_Fileserver/sharefoldername? And that's it? No need to set up auto mount script? What about password? Is there a way that no password will be asked since a user is already logged in.

    THanks!

  7. #16
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I have Samba set up on my system, when it boots (Gentoo), all I have to do is either click on "system menu" and browse to my workgroup, and click on shared folder or launch Konqueror smb://pcname/sharedfolder
    I have Samba set up so I don't need passwords everytime I login.
    See this link for more info on my samba set up.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/red...ndows-ugh.html
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •