Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
seems that my "print screen" key is useless under linux (RH9 KDE), is there a way to print screen and put it on png or bmp just like i usually ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Syria
    Posts
    181

    Is "print screen" available in linux?


    seems that my "print screen" key is useless under linux (RH9 KDE), is there a way to print screen and put it on png or bmp just like i usually do under windows?

    XT
    Registered Linux User # 368300 at Linux Counter

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    23

    What System?

    i know how to on Red Hat and Fedora Core 2

    but not any other one

    IF you have any of these do:

    1. "print screen"
    2. save as something.png
    3. open GIMP
    4. click file
    5. click Open
    6. Open "something.png"
    7. Mess around with it, make it smaller, add things to it

    if you want to save it as .JPG or .BMP
    there are 2 ways:

    1. "print screen"
    2. save as something.png
    3. open GIMP
    4. click file
    5. click Open
    6. Open "something.png"
    7. go to File
    8. click SAVE
    9. Save it as .JPG or .BMP

    or you can try

    1. "print screen"
    2. Erase "screen-shot.png"
    3. type "screen-shot.BMP or .JPG or anything.

    Those should work.

    Works fine for me.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    It is possible to bind a key (even those annoying extended mswindows keys) useing xmodmap (bind the printscreen key to imagemagics "import" command)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In GNOME, you should also be able to find "Take Screenshot" under one of the menus (which menu depends on the application - a vanilla GNOME installation has it under the "Actions" menu).

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Syria
    Posts
    181
    when i press "print screen" key nothing happens (just like in windows) then i open "paint program" in linux and try to paste it but nothing would be pasted (these are the same procedures in windows, with one difference: in windows they work out! )

    XT
    Registered Linux User # 368300 at Linux Counter

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    23

    well

    1. try another paint program : Best one i think is Gnome's GIMP :

    2. "print screen" and go to GIMP, if you got Mandrake or SUSE, may i recommend "print screen" go into your email program, and go to send a new message, and paste your picture in there

    But then again SUSE and MANDRAKE come with PRINT SCREEN READY, which means you hit Print Screen and it saves it to a directory without you knowing it

    Fedora doesn't copy them either

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    To select an X window with the mouse and save it in the jpg image format to a file titled screen.jpg, use:

    import screen.jpg

    To save the desktop to a jpg file, use:

    import -window root screen.jpg

    Then you could cat it to yer printer or open up with gimp or summat.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you using GNOME or KDE, xt2k?

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Syria
    Posts
    181
    i have RH9 with KDE dolda, but the matter of fact is that i have found a program called "screenshot" and i figured it would do the required, and it did it, only with one thing: it cannot takea snapshot with the K menu open.
    thank you guys anyways, but isn't there a way to make "print screen" button work?

    XT
    Registered Linux User # 368300 at Linux Counter

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, there is in GNOME, but I have no idea how to do that in KDE. I'm sure there's a way, though.

    Otherwise, to capture a screen with the menu open, your best bet is probably to use the command line `import' program. You can do something like this:
    Code:
    sleep 5; import -window root ~/screenshot.png
    That way, it will wait five seconds until it takes the screenshot, so you have lots of time to prepare the screen like you want it. If you want to hide the terminal emulator program that you're running import from, just start it on another virtual desktop.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •