Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently did an upgrade of the kernel, just because RH 8.0 said there were updates, so I decided to get all of the updates, and after downloading a new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Error when clicking on Linux Kernel Configurator

I recently did an upgrade of the kernel, just because RH 8.0 said there were updates, so I decided to get all of the updates, and after downloading a new kernel, now i have two kernels I can boot from from the bootloader (LILO).

Now I am messing around, since I am a real newbie, trying to figure out how linux works and evreything, and when I clicked on the Linux Kernel Configurator -KDE this message appeared:

The Kernel configuration could not be read due ot the following error:
    cannont open /usr/src/linux-2.4/arch/config.in for readingEither your kernel sources
    contain invalid configuration rules or you just found a bug in the KDE Kernel Configurator.

Does this mean that something's wrong with the Kernel, or just the KDE Kernel Configurator?
    And how do I fix either. I don't think it is the kernel, since my system is working fine right now...(lets not jinx it though). All I wanted to do was remove the old kernel, perhaps just from the bootloader, but maybe entirely, I just want new stuff. I am only messing around with Linux right now, this is not my mission critical machine. Thanks for the info people. [/b]

Linux Guru
    Do you have your kernel sources installed?

Just Joined!
    I am a very newbie, I am not sure what you mean by the kernel sources installed.

I didn't download the kernel and compile it myself, and do all that footwork, I just ran the up2date and it installed the new kernel for me. Maybe what the up2date did was download the source, compile it, and install it, but as far as I know, I have no idea. Does that help?

Linux Guru