Find the answer to your Linux question:
have no idea what went wrong.. hopefully you experts here can lend an advice or 2... aparently my Redhat Linux 9's named service decides to not start and give me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Urgent.. Please come in.. Weird Problem

have no idea what went wrong.. hopefully you experts here can lend an advice or 2...

aparently my Redhat Linux 9's named service decides to not start and give me a
    "couldn't find localhost.. name or service not found"

my project would need me to get my named running and i'm new to Linux so my options to troubleshoot this problem is close to zero.. and so far haven't been able to do so.

This problem comes in after I move the location of the PC from one to another..using another dhcp connection.. where the DNS server is different... which I suspect is the culprit...

anothem symtom I notice is when i log in... it'll flash an error

"could not look up internet address for compaq.. this will prevent GNOME from operating correctly.. it may be possible to correct the problem by adding compaq to the file /etc/hosts"

anyone can advice on this?
    thanks in advance

Linux Newbie
    Localhost is the name your computer uses to refer to itself sometimes. Open up a text editor as root and open the file /etc/hosts. If this line isn't there, add it:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1              localhost
    (Replace those spaces in between the address and the name with a tab.)

The /etc/hosts file is a list of computers that you frequently access, linking their names with their IP addresses so that if a computer is in this file, your system doesn't have to use DNS to resolve its IP: it can just look it up in the file. It's not a good idea to have too many entries in here, though, as looking through a long list of hosts every time your system wants to resolve an IP address can be a drain on performance.

Hope this helps!