Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I've been trying to do this for the last few hours, without much success. I'm a total newbie to Linux (well, I've been using it for a few months, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Java

I've been trying to do this for the last few hours, without much success. I'm a total newbie to Linux (well, I've been using it for a few months, but just for basic web browsing and the such) and I've come to the point where I need to download Java to get chatrooms and the such to wrok. I can't tell you many specific details, because I don't know them but I downloaded straight from the Java site, and I've got it to download, I just have no clue how to install, This is the point I'm at and I'm completely stuck. Anyone willing to help walk me through this last part?

The site you linked to has a fairly clear step-by-step on it already. Is there a particular step you're having trouble with?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    My main problem is
    Go to the plugins sub-directory under the Mozilla installation directory
    cd <Mozilla installation directory>/plugins

What is <Mozilla installation directory>?

Sorry I wasn't clear enough in the first post

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    What distribution are you using? There might be an easier way to install the Java plug-in. Are you planning on installing this in Firefox? You could look in the /usr/local/firefox directory. I'm not entirely sure where it gets installed.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    I'm on Kubuntu, and I am planning on installing it on firefox. I'll check out /use/local/firefox. Thanks for putting up with my complete stupidness

Just Joined!

Unhappy