Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
This may seem to be the ultimate noob question (and probably is), but how do I identify a computer's processor architecture in order to DL the right distro? How can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    21

    Processor Architecture - How do you identify it?


    This may seem to be the ultimate noob question (and probably is), but how do I identify a computer's processor architecture in order to DL the right distro? How can I know if it's x86, or amd64, or something else? Is there a website referencing these things?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    /world/europe/sweden/örebro
    Posts
    37
    In windows: klick the icon saying: This Computer
    Then select "System inforation" in the table to the left.
    Maybe you can see what processor you have there.

    Any processor from Intel are called x86.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    21
    How about if your on AMD?

    It didn't show up in the system info.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    256
    Godspear, doesn't work with winXP.

    Plato: you're x86 compatible. x86 is an an architecture, where processor A may be an i586 its x86 compatible.
    --monkey

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    116
    Code:
    dmesg | grep CPU
    gives you information about ur cpu
    NEVER stop/pause Journey of Learning -Travelling Soldier ( Me )

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Or cat /proc/cpuinfo

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    246
    Those last two are for Linux, so they won't work for you. In Windows XP, right-click "My Computer", go to Properties --> Hardware --> Device Manager --> Processors. This will tell you the name of your processor. Most likely it's Intel, in which case it's x86-compatible.
    Situations arise because of the weather,
    And no kinds of love are better than others.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    21
    Oki doki, I've tested it out by running x86-compatible liveCD distros and it works.

    Now to get that damn wifi working.

    Thanks to all those who helped, even with the linux prompts, those'll come in handy.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Post 64 bit?

    this is what my query brings up. I hope this forum is still active:

    root@Projector-desktop:/home/mountzion# dmesg | grep CPU
    [ 0.000000] Transmeta TransmetaCPU
    [ 0.000000] SMP: Allowing 4 CPUs, 2 hotplug CPUs
    [ 0.000000] NR_CPUS:8 nr_cpumask_bits:8 nr_cpu_ids:4 nr_node_ids:1
    [ 0.000000] PERCPU: Embedded 14 pages/cpu @c2400000 s36056 r0 d21288 u1048576
    [ 0.000000] Initializing CPU#0
    [ 0.000000] SLUB: Genslabs=13, HWalign=64, Order=0-3, MinObjects=0, CPUs=4, Nodes=1
    [ 0.004219] CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
    [ 0.004222] CPU: L2 Cache: 512K (64 bytes/line)
    [ 0.004224] CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
    [ 0.004225] CPU: Processor Core ID: 0
    [ 0.004229] mce: CPU supports 5 MCE banks
    [ 0.076675] CPU0: AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e stepping 02
    [ 0.008000] Initializing CPU#1
    [ 0.008000] CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
    [ 0.008000] CPU: L2 Cache: 512K (64 bytes/line)
    [ 0.008000] CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
    [ 0.008000] CPU: Processor Core ID: 1
    [ 0.164120] CPU1: AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e stepping 02
    [ 0.164146] Brought up 2 CPUs
    [ 0.164145] Switch to broadcast mode on CPU1
    [ 0.164323] CPU0 attaching sched-domain:
    [ 0.164333] CPU1 attaching sched-domain:
    [ 0.164420] Switch to broadcast mode on CPU0
    [ 0.165056] mtrr: your CPUs had inconsistent fixed MTRR settings
    [ 0.165058] mtrr: probably your BIOS does not setup all CPUs.
    [ 0.403526] processor LNXCPU:00: registered as cooling_device0
    [ 0.403554] processor LNXCPU:01: registered as cooling_device1
    [ 14.337490] CPU0 attaching NULL sched-domain.
    [ 14.337499] CPU1 attaching NULL sched-domain.
    [ 14.360744] CPU0 attaching sched-domain:
    [ 14.360758] CPU1 attaching sched-domain:
    [ 19.627452] CPU0 attaching NULL sched-domain.
    [ 19.627460] CPU1 attaching NULL sched-domain.
    [ 19.644802] CPU0 attaching sched-domain:
    [ 19.644812] CPU1 attaching sched-domain:
    root@Projector-desktop:/home/mountzion# /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family : 15
    model : 107
    model name : AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1000.000
    cache size : 512 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 2
    apicid : 0
    initial apicid : 0
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 1
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
    bogomips : 2009.54
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

    processor : 1
    vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family : 15
    model : 107
    model name : AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e
    stepping : 2
    cpu MHz : 1000.000
    cache size : 512 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 1
    cpu cores : 2
    apicid : 1
    initial apicid : 1
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 1
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
    bogomips : 2009.54
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

    root@Projector-desktop:/home/mountzion#

  10. #10
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by ricgal View Post
    this is what my query brings up. I hope this forum is still active
    Hello

    This thread is over 6 years old. If you are having issues with Linux and want help, please start a new thread with the details explaining the problem.

    Thanks.
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •