Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
If I connect a external HDD to a USB-port, unplug it later, because not used, and if I use the same USB-port to plug in a scanner: Is that why ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219

    Mystical scanner problem


    If I connect a external HDD to a USB-port, unplug it later, because not used,
    and if I use the same USB-port to plug in a scanner: Is that why my scanner possibly does not work?

    (I am using a laptop.)

    The scan program (Kooka) does enable printing via separate printer.
    But it does not select any scan device: there is no such device there, from which to select.

    The shell console gives this part of a output:
    "found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [hewlett packard], product=0x2305 [hp scanjet], chip=RTS8822L-01H) at libusb:001:003
    # Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
    # SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage."
    and:
    # You may want to run this program as root to find all devices. Once you
    # found the scanner devices, be sure to adjust access permissions as
    # necessary."

    Question: How do I run the program as root to find all devices?

    Well, that is all for them moment. I hope someone helps me.

    Alexander

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    I would be very glad for some help/hints.

    Thank you so much.

    Alexander

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,281
    What's your distro? If it's Ubuntu or similar, type
    Code:
    sudo sane
    and enter your password. Otherwise type
    Code:
    su -c sane
    and enter the root password.

    BTW a lot of USB scanners give trouble in Linux. Look in /usr/share/doc/libsane and with any luck you'll find a list of supported scanners.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    Hello Hazel.

    Output of "Run Command"...:

    sudo: /etc/sudoers is mode 0646, should be 0440

    Output of the Shell-Console:

    alexander@6[~]$ su -c sane
    Password:
    bash: sane: command not found
    alexander@6[~]$

    alexander@10[~]$ sudo sane
    sudo: /etc/sudoers is mode 0646, should be 0440
    alexander@10[~]$ sudo sane





    Root-Shell:

    Password:
    root@9[~]# sudo sane
    sudo: /etc/sudoers is mode 0646, should be 0440
    root@9[~]#

    alexander@10[~]$ su -c sane
    Password:
    bash: sane: command not found
    alexander@10[~]$

    My OS is "SimplyMEPIS 6.5"


    Thank you so much, dear Hazel,

    Alexander

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219

    Thumbs up

    Hello Hazel,

    your BTW-tip, is not only interesting, it is fantastic.

    I haven't reached the libsane file yet.

    I am in here: /usr/share/doc/

    This is a fantastic area.

    I think, I have been i here a few times, but had forgotten about it again.

    There is load of work here to do. I am just looking at a HP-file (my printer manufacturer) ...

    So I shall give you a feedback soon.

    This looks very good. Some more nitty-gritty work to do. Thanks.

    See you later.

    Alexander

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer hazel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    1,281
    You seem not to have sane. Not to worry, you just have a different front-end to the libsane system. Sane is the command line front-end and most distros include it but perhaps Mepis doesn't. To run kooka as root, call up a konsole and type
    Code:
    su -c kooka
    then give the root password. I suggest you also run scanimage -L as suggested.

    The quickest way to find out if you have a program is often to use the which command. e.g. which sane. This works reliably if it is a command for ordinary users (stored in /bin or /usr/bin). If it is a housekeeping command stored in /sbin or /usr/sbin, which will find it if you are root, but not otherwise, because these directories are not on the user command path.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    Hi Hazel,
    thanks.

    Here is my output from your suggestion:

    Password:
    root@9[~]# su -c kooka
    kooka: cannot connect to X server


    Alexander

  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219

    Kooka making some progress

    Hi Hazel,

    something has suddenly happened with Kooka.

    Instead of the stupid single windows, it shows a better an nicer window, all in one, something, like it used to be, before it got worse.

    It just happened after giving in your command.

    Here is screenshot:

    snapshot4.jpg


    Alexander

    Edit.
    P.S..

    Ah, now I see, what happened: It reset to the default configurations, and deleted all the files that where in the Gallery.

    Lets see what happens next...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •