Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
ok, heres my prob, I've just started using Linux after countless years of Windows, I know just enough about Linux to have installed it, and by the grace of some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Im an Uber Newb needing help with the basics

ok, heres my prob, I've just started using Linux after countless years of Windows, I know just enough about Linux to have installed it, and by the grace of some unknown god I accually got yahoo messanger installed( did so on accadent, just dont tell my freinds) I need to know where I can go to get some instructions on the basics, and be able to work my way up, remember, I downloaded and installed a free iso for a reason so lets not be talkin about gettin $40k books so I can learn to run a free operating system, and for the love of god, dont reply with the ever so irratating "oh you dumb worthelss newb" ego blown crap Ive gotten from so many other Linux users.............erg

Just Joined!
    I'm a n00b aswell... I'm using Fedora and got some nice help with the basics here http://fedoraguide.org/fc2/fc2beginnersguide.html

Otherwise just scroll the forum and you'll learn on the way, good luck

Linux User
    A easy thing to learn, and have it do something, is change your bash prompt. Here's a tutorial: http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Bash-Prompt-HOWTO/

Theres a horde of tutorials/howto's at http://www.tldp.org just take a look around that site.
    --monkey

Linux Guru
    Best free source of information is HOWTO. Anything you want to know about,
    Code:
    Google:
     howto whatever
    and you'll get good links

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by drakebasher
    Best free source of information is HOWTO. Anything you want to know about,
    Code:
    Google:
     howto whatever
    and you'll get good links