Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
the problem is that i just upgraded to core 2 duo,intel 965,2gb of ram and 250 hard disk space . I am trying to install slackware 12, but the setup ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie bunty82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    130

    Exclamation Please help trying for the last 1 week


    the problem is that i just upgraded to core 2 duo,intel 965,2gb of ram and 250 hard disk space .
    I am trying to install slackware 12, but the setup is not able to detect the DVD,

    heard that there is an option of selecting Hard disk as boot source,

    how to do that please help???????
    System Configuration
    OS#Windows Xp pro Sp2
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
    Intel motherboard DG965ry
    Nvidia graphic card 512mb
    2 gb ram
    250gb Sata segate HDD
    160gb sata segate hdd
    D link ethernetcard
    Lg dvd writer
    Lg cd writer

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie bunty82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    130
    please help i am trying for the last one week to do this

    i had tried every where but no help
    dapperdan
    anyone please help
    this is me the old slackware fan
    System Configuration
    OS#Windows Xp pro Sp2
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
    Intel motherboard DG965ry
    Nvidia graphic card 512mb
    2 gb ram
    250gb Sata segate HDD
    160gb sata segate hdd
    D link ethernetcard
    Lg dvd writer
    Lg cd writer

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a HowTo with instructions, but I've never done it so can't say how well it works:

    The Slackware Linux Project: Frequently Asked Questions
    oz

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie bunty82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    130
    thanks Ozar
    can i get more help in this
    i have copy pasted my slackware 12 DVD on one of my hard disk "there is a option in installation where you can set your source to use hard disk drive as installation medium".
    now thing is this when i try to install it
    it selects the medium and even shows the install everything window
    however the next page is press alt+ctrl+del to restart ?????????
    dont know whats going on
    System Configuration
    OS#Windows Xp pro Sp2
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
    Intel motherboard DG965ry
    Nvidia graphic card 512mb
    2 gb ram
    250gb Sata segate HDD
    160gb sata segate hdd
    D link ethernetcard
    Lg dvd writer
    Lg cd writer

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I've never tried installing that way, so I have no idea. Are you sure there's not something you are missing on the page before the alt+ctrl+delete page? I'm guessing if you press those keys, you'll get a normal reboot, but have you tried it to see what happens?

    Maybe someone that has tried this will offer up some tips. It sounds like you might be on the right track, though.
    oz

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie bunty82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    130
    yeah Buddy
    hope fully yes
    System Configuration
    OS#Windows Xp pro Sp2
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
    Intel motherboard DG965ry
    Nvidia graphic card 512mb
    2 gb ram
    250gb Sata segate HDD
    160gb sata segate hdd
    D link ethernetcard
    Lg dvd writer
    Lg cd writer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •