Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just started reading about scheduling tasks in linux with cron files. I am very new at this so I don't know much. I was just wondering if most people ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question about mounting and also about Scripts

I just started reading about scheduling tasks in linux with cron files. I am very new at this so I don't know much. I was just wondering if most people use cron or some other method to run automated scheduled tasks. I just don't want to be barking up the wrong, deprecated, methods.

Also I am looking to learn more about Samba, and I'm doing some reading myself right now. I've been reading some posts, and, not to get into details but I am trying to get an overview of how things work. I was just wondering about mounting. Do you mount a windows share directory :P onto a linux system, and then linux will recognize this directory as a usable directory, or do you mount something on the windows side. Who is mounting what? I'd imagine both systems have to be running Samba or something and that is like their protocol...can somebody give me a general, general overview?

Linux Enthusiast