Find the answer to your Linux question:
ok....here goes i am VERY new to Linux, so i would really appreciate your help here. I recently received a copy of linux from my CST (computer systems technology) teacher, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Another Dial-Up Problem

ok....here goes

i am VERY new to Linux, so i would really appreciate your help here.

I recently received a copy of linux from my CST (computer systems technology) teacher, it's Ubuntu 6.06. i installed it that night, and found that it couldn't connect to the internet. blah blah blah...Winmodem.

I went to Staples and bought an external modem that connects to a USB port. i bought it because it explicitly stated that it works under Linux, which it does. it had drivers for Linux, which were easy to install.

anyway, Linux can see the modem, but cant connect to the internet. i think the problem may be that I have configured it incorrectly, but I'm not sure.

if there is any additional information you need, just ask, but i would really like to be able to switch to Linux as my primary OS, and the only thing preventing this is my connection issues.

any help would be appreciated.

Just Joined!

Unhappy thanks for the help

not to be impatient or anything, but i was hoping someone could help.

i've searched the forums for other dial-up related issues, but none of them (the ones with the same problem as i have) had a clear reply.

if anyone could help me get my modem working in linux, i'd appreciate it.

You need to tell us what happens when you try to connect.

Presumably you are using Ubuntu's graphical networking tool. How did you configure it?

Check the /var/log/messages file: what relevant messages come up? The more information you give, the easier it will be for someone to help you.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!