Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! Complete newbie here... Ive been using windows xp, (much to your dismay I'm sure, but its the best OS for games at the moment) Im going to try and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Knoppix Wont let me do anything!

Hello!

Complete newbie here...

Ive been using windows xp, (much to your dismay I'm sure, but its the best OS for games at the moment) Im going to try and have a dual boot of mandrake and windows so that I can attempt to learn how to use it. But for now I cant get into it at all (for various reasons I wont go into) basically, I wanted to transfer all my files onto a portable usb hard drive, so that I cant start installing a different OS and not lose all my import save games and things.

My plan was to use a Knoppix boot disc I have, to transfer the files. Once I got into it, I plugged in my portable hard drive, knoppix recognised it and the icon appeared on the desktop. But, whenever I tried to do anything to either of the drives it just comes up with a message saying "unable to create directory", "unable to delete file" etc, etc.

Also, when knoppix is booting up, it comes says something like "tables disabled: please contact your HW vendor". Would this have something to do with it?

Basically I just really need help, ive tried looking around the net for answers, and I dont really know anyone who has any knowledge of linux. So if anyone can help me out with this it would be much appreciated!

Thanks Alot!

Tom.

Linux Newbie
    Hi and welcome to the forums !
    You should probably check out some tuts for newbs (on the internet or in the HOWTOs section) because you will need them.

It seems to me that the message you are getting is because you are trying to copy files to a folder to which is not owned by you. The solution would be typing this command in a console:
    su root