Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
that depends, post your partition table and we can see...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396

    that depends, post your partition table and we can see
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  2. #12
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    Code:
    [root@localhost ian]# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/hda: 20.5 GB, 20576747520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2501 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1   *           1        2499    20073186    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    
    Disk /dev/hdb: 10.0 GB, 10005037056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1216 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device  Boot      Start      End      Blocks      Id    System
    /dev/hdb1   *           1         712     5719108+   83    Linux
    /dev/hdb2             713        1216     4048380    5     Extended
    /dev/hdb5             713         775      506016     82    Linux swap
    /dev/hdb6             776        1216     3542301   83     Linux
    if any1 is wondering, i'm using my box for a desktop/server. i haven't had problems running a apache and mysql in the background, i was only wondering if it could be faster.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    depending on where your system is intalled, it looks like you can repace your distro and keep your data, just re install programs. If you keep the last partition untouched and just install something like gentoo on the other then your in great shape (re-installing programs is no big deal emerge programname will handle everything) If its personal data taht needs saveing thats easy, put it on the safe partiton.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    256
    Quote Originally Posted by qub333
    Is fluxbox based in gtk or qt or neither?
    It's neither, since it's a Window Manager. KDE and Gnome are Desktop Environments.

    If you want to, you can run any KDE or Gnome program in fluxbox.
    --monkey

  5. #15
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    thanks, thats what i was wondering if i have a gnome oriented system can i run fluxbox and still use everything, does anyone have a good fluxbox screenshot?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Fluxbox has full qt support and nearly full gtk support these are whats important. For screen shots goto there website although it takes about 5 minutes to compile so its not a big loss if you dont like it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •