Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
on fedora core 2 correct me if anything wrong or not quite commen (i.e download path, install method & so...) i downloaded gkrellm-2.2.1-1.1.fc2.fr.i386.rpm from freshrpms.net to /tmp then i did ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61

    first time to rpm - how to use the installed app after setup


    on fedora core 2

    correct me if anything wrong or not quite commen (i.e download path, install method & so...)

    i downloaded gkrellm-2.2.1-1.1.fc2.fr.i386.rpm from freshrpms.net to /tmp then i did ctrl+alt+F1 & logged in as root from there i did @ rpm -r gkrellm-2.2.1-1.1.fc2.fr.i386.rpm -i. that's all, is it correct ?
    how can i now lunch the installed binary ? - does it create a link for it on the KDE menu, or do i need to do it myself ?
    how can i know to where did it installed it's binarys

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    It may or may not create a menu entry.

    type whereis gkrellm in a console to see where it's installed it.

    Or just type gkrellm and see if it runs.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    More info, may be useful

    To find out where they've been instaled -

    rpm -q -l package
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    you can use find command in a konsole window
    find / -name gkrellm and check the results.the executable should be at /usr/bin
    or /usr/sbin (for root apps).
    you run it with alt+f2(to open a run window) and then type the name of application..
    Linux For Ever!

  6. #5
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    should you want to make a link to it in the menu, simpy right-click-->new-->application shortcut and type in the command that you use to open the program from a command line or run window
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    61
    thank you all for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •