Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am totally new to redhat linux. I currently have this setup Asus P4P800, 3.0ghz cpu, geforce 4, 2x 20gig hdd 1x 80gig hdd + 1 dvd burner, 512mb ram. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

where do i begin?? problem after problem :(

I am totally new to redhat linux. I currently have this setup
    Asus P4P800, 3.0ghz cpu, geforce 4, 2x 20gig hdd 1x 80gig hdd + 1 dvd burner, 512mb ram.

I have drive c (20gig) and drive e (80gig) as ntfs partitions.
    Drive c is my winXP drive
    drive e is my d/l drive

drive d is empty (20gig)

I tried to use vmware to create a virtual machine on drive D. I then tried to install redhat 9 onto this drive (was ntfs at the time) I installed all 3 cd's fine and when it came time to boot up, the system would hang inside vmware and crash my computer.

I wasn't sure if i was selecting the right hdd or whatever to install as the gui installer can't be used through vmware. So i tried again and it stalled during the boot up of redhat. I removed the vmware files.

When i restarted my computer i booted up with the redhat 9 cd 1 and continued to install from there. When it installed i got the error:
    "Kernel panic: no init found. Try passing init = option to kernel"

I then booted into winXP and drive D was not visible. So i used the winXp cd setup from bootup and deleted the partitions it created on D drive. It then went on and copied windows files so i stopped that and then found i couldn't boot anything. I used the norton ghost recovery program to ghost my c image back to c: This worked fine.

After getting winXP up and running on c: and my d: clean and formatted to FAT32 i unplugged my e: and c: and installed linux onto the d: When it finished i got the same kernel panic error.