Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux but I played with Red Hat like 5 years ago and not a day since and I am tired of my computer not running right ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Mint 4.0 Live CD

I am new to Linux but I played with Red Hat like 5 years ago and not a day since and I am tired of my computer not running right so I want to get ride of windows but I need to get linux up and running and get my wife used to it. So heres my delima.

I just downloaded Linux Mint 4.0 and burnt it onto a CD. Then I booted my computer up and got the intitail screen and choose "start Linux Mint". It starts and the bar sways from side to side then goes to the next screen where the box pops up and it starts to load the individual items then on the third one where its configuring my screen setting it stops and goes to a blank screen; I tried to boot it in safe mode and it said that it couldnt config my screen but says nothing on the normal mode.

Any help will be apreciated. Ive searched the forums and google for this problem and had no luck what so ever.

And thank you in advanced for the help.

Charles

Sounds like a video problem. What kind of display card does your computer have? Linux Mint is basically just a repackaged version of Ubuntu, so if you can't get it to work you might consider using the non-graphical "Alternate" install disc of Ubuntu:

Ubuntu Home Page | Ubuntu

What are the other hardware specs on your target computer? RAM? CPU? Harddrive space?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

You could try experimenting with the kernel boot options available to you through the F-keys right before the CD begins to boot into the Linux system.

Like techieMoe says, it sounds like a video issue, so look closely at the options related to video resolution and/or vertical/horizontal sync.
    oz

Just Joined!