Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am looking to converting to Linux OS, and would like some imput on what I should be looking for. I use my computer mostly for internet surfing, email, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need advise on what to get!

I am looking to converting to Linux OS, and would like some imput on what I should be looking for. I use my computer mostly for internet surfing, email, and work related things like a teacher's gradebook program, word processor, and occasionally downloading and recording music. I also like to deal with digital photography, and I use MS PictureIt. Overall, I am not an expert in anything, but I do like to use the computer more than the casual user. I am a fan of Firefox, and have been keeping up with it for the last 6 mos or so. I also use Norton Antivirus, and programs such as Spyblaster, Ad-aware, and Spybot. I am not a power user, but I have grown appreciative of some of the more advanced user options in other software, but definitely not all. I like to play around and see what works for me, but usually not until I need it. I would like to be able to add plug-ins and such when needed, but not necessarilly as part of the original package. My machine is an x86 AMD 1194mhz, with American Megatrends Bios 7.0 dated 4/01. I have 384mb of memory, and 2 drives: a 20gig with windows xp sp2 rc2, and a 4 gig with junk on it. I have a cd recorder, but is not very fast and I use a 3.0 DSL connection.

Any help with system advise and links would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Linux Newbie

Linux Newbie