Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Using this. Linux Online - Getting Started with Linux - Lesson 1 (1) I have VMWare 4.5 running on WinXPPro. I need a distro that allows me to run shell ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Getting Started with Linux


    Using this. Linux Online - Getting Started with Linux - Lesson 1 (1)

    I have VMWare 4.5 running on WinXPPro. I need a distro that allows me to run shell commands. Can someone recommend something?


    The above was found here...
    10 Sites Offering Free Linux Courses Online -- Education-Portal.com

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by DaHowie View Post
    Using this. Linux Online - Getting Started with Linux - Lesson 1 (1)

    I have VMWare 4.5 running on WinXPPro. I need a distro that allows me to run shell commands. Can someone recommend something?
    Every Linux distribution will let you run shell commands. I guess I don't quite understand what you're asking.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Sorry.

    A somewhat smaller fast loading without a GUI. Just using the shell to begin.

    Just getting into this and don't need the additional confusion.

    I want to start slow and become familiar with the OS on a command line basis. Much of the work I do going forward will be using UNIX/LINUX based platforms. I am now going away from Windows server support and moving into back-end storage administration. Much of what I see on the back-end us UNIX/LINUX based.
    Last edited by DaHowie; 12-13-2007 at 08:17 PM. Reason: Clarification

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I'd go for the Debian net-install CD. It's very small and will install just a basic command-line environment at first. You can add on as little or much as you want after the fact. The downside is it assumes you have an internet connection.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    If you edit /etc/inittab to default to runlevel 3 every distro becomes a text based one. You can switch to graphical mode anytime of course, but it wont boot into graphics by default.

    I'd suggest you stick with the system you're wanting to learn. If that is a rpm based distro, or a deb based one, or Slack or BSD... stick with that.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •