Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, I am thinking of migrating to Linux (Slowly, but steadly). I have a few questions to ask about Linux: I know Linux isn't Windows, so I have a bit ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Newbie here...

hi,

I am thinking of migrating to Linux (Slowly, but steadly). I have a few questions to ask about Linux:

I know Linux isn't Windows, so I have a bit of learning to do, but I want to try something different. I have a Laptop PC (Dell XPS M1730) with 2x160GB hard drives, I have Windows Vista Home Premium installed on the First hard drive and absolutely NOTHING on the Second hard drive, Would I be a good candidate for Dual Booting Windows and Linux? (I'm not sure if you can Dual Boot from a second hard drive, I've only read about Partitioning a single Hard Drive).

I am still undecided on which Linux Distro to go for. I am leaning towards Dreamlinux because it has a Mac feel to it, but It may not be as good as the Major Distro's (Ubuntu, SuSe, ect..). Could someone suggest a good Distro?
    (as I am a Newbie, I know absolutely nothing about the Different Linux versions).

I am a Casual Gamer, and I like to play new games (like Crysis and Timeshift), but I also like to play the oldies too (Half-Life 1, ect...).I play games on Vista, but I feel like Linux would take more advantage of my video card than Vista would (Nvidia GeForce Go 8700GTX SLI-Enabled). There is a program I'd like to use, called Cedega, Because Wine looks a bit complex and scary (Cause I might stuff it up).

Anyway, I would appreciate any help and I look foward to using Linux

Linux Guru
    Wow - lots of open questions here. =)

First thing to know is that there is no "best Linux distro." Some people have preferences, but the answer will be whatever works best for you.

To get you started, you can read through the *large* list of Linux distro's at DistroWatch. And those are just the "major" ones.