Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Originally Posted by ck_asdf the shell is BASH (/bin/bash) As for the graphics, I found this on one site: Source: 8Bit Joystick.com: Review: Microsoft Xbox Video Game System Ok, your ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Newbie mazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    109

    Quote Originally Posted by ck_asdf View Post
    the shell is BASH (/bin/bash)

    As for the graphics, I found this on one site:



    Source:
    8Bit Joystick.com: Review: Microsoft Xbox Video Game System
    Ok, your PATH is easy set. Just write in your .bashrc
    Code:
    export PATH=$PATH:/usr/bin
    Your X11 problem is getting freaky. I have no clue what graphics driver you need for your xbox. I have just read in an different thread that you used the livna-drivers for your FC8 system. Does livna also support your xbox? If yes, you can install the nvidia driver from there. They work pretty well on my FC4 system.

    Perhaps, somebody else knows a solution to your X11 issues.

    Good luck,
    Mazer
    I was seduced by SUSE 5.1.
    Registered Linux User #451562

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27
    I'll try using livna, see if it will work.

    Any suggestions for that other thread?

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27
    oh, I'm not sure if I mentioned or not, but putting the "-y" right after "yum" works.
    I'm still working on getting the nvidia drivers on the box ... any suggestions on adding livna to my list of repositories?

    I saw this, but I got an error:
    Error:
    [root@localhost log]# rpm -Uvh http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/4/i386/R...2.4.noarch.rpm
    Retrieving http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/4/i386/R...2.4.noarch.rpm
    error: skipping http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/4/i386/R...2.4.noarch.rpm - transfer failed - Unknown or unexpected error
    warning: _url_cache[0] 0x8d6d198 nrefs(5351719) != 1 ( )
    I'm thinking that I can download the nvidia driver & install it manually, though .. I've downloaded it, I'm about to install it.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27
    Okay, so I downloaded the nvidia kernel module, got a few dependency errors, got nvidia-glx, though I don't know where to put it ... and apparently, /boot/vmlinuz is no where to be found (that is to say, not in /boot).

    [root@localhost shared]# rpm -Uvh kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4-1.0.8762-1.lvn4.i686.rpm
    warning: kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4-1.0.8762-1.lvn4.i686.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID a109b1ec
    error: Failed dependencies:
    /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4 is needed by kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4-1.0.8762-1.lvn4.i686
    nvidia-glx is needed by kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4-1.0.8762-1.lvn4.i686
    nvidia-glx = 1.0.8762 is needed by kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.17-1.2142_FC4-1.0.8762-1.lvn4.i686

  6. #25
    Linux Newbie mazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by ck_asdf View Post
    oh, I'm not sure if I mentioned or not, but putting the "-y" right after "yum" works.
    I'm still working on getting the nvidia drivers on the box ... any suggestions on adding livna to my list of repositories?

    I saw this, but I got an error:




    I'm thinking that I can download the nvidia driver & install it manually, though .. I've downloaded it, I'm about to install it.

    try
    Code:
     rpm -Uvh http://livna-dl.reloumirrors.net/fedora/4/i386/livna-release-4-7.noarch.rpm
    first and then install with yum the kernel modules.

    Don't mess up your entire system by installing the rpm's by hand.
    Mazer
    I was seduced by SUSE 5.1.
    Registered Linux User #451562

  7. #26
    Linux Newbie mazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by ck_asdf View Post
    I'll try using livna, see if it will work.

    Any suggestions for that other thread?
    Sorry, no clue.
    Mazer
    I was seduced by SUSE 5.1.
    Registered Linux User #451562

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27
    w00t, your suggestion worked, I got the nVidia stuff I need, I guess ... but still, I have the exact same page-long error, except of course for the time it was created.

    http://ck.podzone.net/xerr.txt (for reference)


    any other suggestions?

    I once got a Ubuntu live CD to run (very slowly, with the DVD drive in the xbox) with graphics ... so why is it being so odd?

    Would you care to ssh into the xbox & have a look around, mazer?

  9. #28
    Linux Newbie mazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by ck_asdf View Post
    w00t, your suggestion worked, I got the nVidia stuff I need, I guess ... but still, I have the exact same page-long error, except of course for the time it was created.

    http://ck.podzone.net/xerr.txt (for reference)


    any other suggestions?

    I once got a Ubuntu live CD to run (very slowly, with the DVD drive in the xbox) with graphics ... so why is it being so odd?

    Would you care to ssh into the xbox & have a look around, mazer?

    I guess you are still using your old xorg.conf file without the new nvidia driver. If you want I can have a look. Just send me the IP and create an account for me.

    Mazer

    By the way, I have this section in my xorg.conf
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "nvidia"
            VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
            BoardName   "NVIDIA Quadro FX (generic)"
    EndSection
    I was seduced by SUSE 5.1.
    Registered Linux User #451562

  10. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27
    I sent you the info for SSH through PM ...
    I was looking, and I don't seem to have /etc/X11/xorg.conf

  11. #30
    Linux Newbie mazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by ck_asdf View Post
    I sent you the info for SSH through PM ...
    I was looking, and I don't seem to have /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    I have sent you also PM. Can you posed your monitor model here or per email or PM, whatever you like.
    Mazer

    By the way, I am getting tired. Could we do that a little faster?
    I was seduced by SUSE 5.1.
    Registered Linux User #451562

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •