Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Im a newb as my name states how would i go about installing limewire...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    39

    How to install limewire on mandrake 10


    Im a newb as my name states how would i go about installing limewire

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    download a RPM and just install it by double clicking on it in a graphical file manager of your choice or
    Code:
    rpm <filename>
    should install it.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    if it is tar format type
    Code:
    &#58;tar -xvf <filename>
    if it is rpm type
    Code:
    rpm -i <filename>
    good luck...
    (for more type in a konsole window man rpm or man tar)
    Linux For Ever!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    thanks, i haven't used rpm in a while (woot woot to gentoo, portage, and all things good in this world)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie Darl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada/BC/Kelowna/Home
    Posts
    130
    No, it's a bin, right?
    Change the permissions so that you can execute it, then double click it and select `Run in Terminal'.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    if you go to limewire.com they provide a .bin, but if you look around there are also tar;s and rpms. (its very popular software)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    39
    alright ill try that thanks

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    36
    also keep in mind that you have to have Java Runtime in order for Limewire to work properly.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    good point, Linux_newb what distro are you running? some come with it installed i beleve, but reguardless, if you have a package installer (yum, apt-get, urpmi) then that will make dependancis with java easy to handle.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •