Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
It's not asking me anything... is it installed wrong or something? I installed Fedora Core 8 32 bit when I typed: adduser cynical it doesn't prompt me for anything, it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15

    adduser


    It's not asking me anything... is it installed wrong or something?
    I installed Fedora Core 8 32 bit
    when I typed:
    adduser cynical
    it doesn't prompt me for anything, it just goes back into the unix prompt
    is there some other way to add an account?
    can I go into root and edit the user accounts I've made?

  2. #22
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    deluser cynical
    adduser --h /home/cynical cynical
    passed cynical
    In case it doesn't work, try useradd command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15
    the deluser worked,
    the adduser --h just put the list of switches up for the adduser command.
    passed isn't a command it understood.
    maybe I need to reinstall Fedora?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you tried useradd command as I suggested earlier?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15
    yes, I tried useradd too, it didn't like it.. adduser adds user, but it didn't see useradd as a valid command.

  7. #26
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hmmm.. Execute startx command as root. Open Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    system-config-users
    Try to add user through it.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    15
    THAT did work!

    thank you

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •