Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
i have a hosting account and i want to know which variant and version of linux it runs? any help is appreciated....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London Uk
    Posts
    93

    how to find linux variant?


    i have a hosting account and i want to know which variant and version of linux it runs? any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    As root:

    Code:
    nmap -O {IP-address or url}
    Read man nmap for other and additional options.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London Uk
    Posts
    93
    thanks for your reply. unfortunately i could not run that command as it requires root privilege.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Ah, you don't have access to the root account? You might try

    Code:
    nmap -A {IP-address or url}
    For less detailed results.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  5. #5
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Does "cat /etc/*release" help.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    37
    You could try
    cat /etc/issue

    (@daark.child: I think we had that before At least in Debianoids there is no /etc/*release )

    Ogion

  7. #7
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Quote Originally Posted by Ogion View Post
    You could try
    cat /etc/issue

    (@daark.child: I think we had that before At least in Debianoids there is no /etc/*release )

    Ogion
    True. Thats only because Debian is just weird!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    37
    Well...

    Ogion

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    On my box it's /etc/vector-version...



    ...guess there is no standardization on that





    Either way, I assumed the OP was referring to a remote machine, with 'hosting account' and all that. But .. ah well .. I dunno
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    37
    Yeah, it doesn't seem to be standardized (At least the /etc/issue seems to exist on multiple disitros, i have it in my Debians and in my Arch.)

    Well, i supposed that he had ssh-access or something like that...

    Ogion

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •