Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm new to linux (yes, yes, another windows refugee). I'm not looking for a windows on a linux kernal but a better experience then that of windows (i'm not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Linux Partitons

Hi, I'm new to linux (yes, yes, another windows refugee). I'm not looking for a windows on a linux kernal but a better experience then that of windows (i'm not a windows basher - just tired of doing things the Redmond way). However i've hit my first hurdle:

Linux partiton tables. I need to know what the difference is between:

1. Linux swap = windows paging file? If so, how large should this be on a system wtih 2Gb of RAM?
    2. Linux native
    3. Journalised FS: ext3, Reiser FS, XFS, JFS.

All I want is to setup a 100Gb program/OS partiton, the swap partition and a last partiton for the rest for my files/data.

I would greatly appreciate your help.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Linux Native means any Linux filesystem e.g. ext3, reiserfs etc. Most people use ext3 or reiserfs. They are called journaling filesystems because they keep a journal/record of changes to be made to the filesystem which makes it easier and faster to do filesystem checks if the system does not shut down cleanly. As for swap, you can make it any size you want depending on how you think you will use the system. Most people with a lot of ram probably won't use much swap space, so avoid making it too big because you will just waste disk space. I have a system with 1GB RAM and 512MB swap. The swap is hardly used.

oz
    forum.guy
    Regarding swap size, I have the same RAM and swap space as daark.child and my swap partition is never used. With 2GB of RAM, you shouldn't need much swap space unless you have lots of memory intensive packages opened at one time.
    oz

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by proxywall View Post