Find the answer to your Linux question:
I would like to play with the various Linux OSs. I narrowed it down to three, which are Ubuntu, Fedora, and OpenSUSE. I will be installing Fedora 8 first, followed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Should I mount /root and /home on separate or same partition?

I would like to play with the various Linux OSs. I narrowed it down to three, which are Ubuntu, Fedora, and OpenSUSE. I will be installing Fedora 8 first, followed by Ubuntu 7.10, and finally OpenSUSE. I am a complete novice with this, but I have been reading up in the forums about it. I've already been playing with the installs of Ubuntu and Fedora, but on separate machines. With the help of the wise-and-willing folks on these forums, I have also been able to configure dual-boot with XP. This is, of course, in preparation of multi-booting on my super computer workstation.

I just want to know what the advantages are for separating (and not separating) the mounts for /root and /home. So, I want to pick your brains regarding this issue. I'm just not too sure what the advantages are. It seems that having them separated will allow me to keep my current settings, but it looks like there is still a lot of manual tweaking to be done for this to be true. If I keep them separated, and in the future upgrade from my current version (ex. Ubuntu 7.10) will it be better if I just keep them separated?

I ask because I will be partitioning my new hd and need to know how many partitions to create (and what sizes). I want to install Ubuntu, OpenSUSE, and maybe Fedora, so I am somewhere between 3 and 6 ext3 partitions (plus one more for the swap). If / and /home on the same partition, then I will make 3 ext3 partitions, and if separate, then I will make 6 ext3 partitions. I have a new 500 GB hd for this, and would like to keep the rest open for file-sharing for Linux and XP. XP is already installed on the current (and separate) hd.