Find the answer to your Linux question:
Yeh so this is going to be my freshman year at collage and I'm either going to build myself a new computer or just buy one (havenít decided yet). Anyway, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Going to Collage..New Computer....Duel-Boot?

Yeh so this is going to be my freshman year at collage and I'm either going to build myself a new computer or just buy one (havenít decided yet). Anyway, I want to put a duel boot of Windows/Linux. Linux because of the stability (donít need anything crashing while writing an essay) and Windows because I like to game. I am, as you guys say, a Windows Power User, I pretty much know the ins and outs of Windows, also sadly I am a Linux newbie. I have played around with Knoppix and some of the "newbie" friendly versions of Linux but nothing to risquť. I see this as a good time to get into some a little more "meatier" as it is more then likely that I will have some kind of job that deals with computers and having a Lunix on your resume doesnít hurt . I would like your advice on what "distro" (right word?) would best suit my needs.

Primarily I would be using the Lunix partition for:

Word Processing (essays, spreadsheets, ect)
    Computer Science homework (coding)
    Internet
    Printing
    And other school related things.

Window would be used for games, chatting, and so forth.

Thanks.

Linux Newbie
    Well, you have what, a month before leaving for school? I'd suggest tonight you grab as many distros as you can get ahold of and install all of them and play with each a couple of days. It won't let you get intimate with any of them but it will give you time to decide which ones you want to get intimate with.
    I run Slackware and it'll do everything you're asking and tons more. But, then again, so will Mandrake, Fedora, SUSE, Arch and basically any other distro out there.