Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. I am pretty new to Linux. I've been experimenting with Mandrake 10 and PCLinux OS for a couple of weeks now and I like them both. I am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help choosing

Hi everyone.
    I am pretty new to Linux.

I've been experimenting with Mandrake 10 and PCLinux OS for a couple of weeks now and I like them both.

I am a programmer and I've been using Windows for several years now.
    I use PHP, C/C++, Basic and other dialects and a few other languages.

I wanted to ask if some more experienced users and fellow programmers could help me reccommend a Linux distro that has a descent C and C++ compiler already installed and configured. It must also be stable and hopefully have a recent version of KDE which is what I have gotten used to. I've seen alot of older users using Slackware, but I haven't tried that yet.

Hopefully this thread will give me more info on the pros and cons on the different distros.

Thanks, GeoTrail.

Just Joined!
    I believe all Linux distros have the almighty GCC compiler built into them...But I'm a n00b to Linux and C programming so I could be wrong