Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Greetings, Im using FC2, and the Red Hat Network Alert Icon is continually flashing red at me because I have not updated my kernel. Is it a good idea to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    24

    RHN Upgrade Kernel?


    Greetings,
    Im using FC2, and the Red Hat Network Alert Icon is continually flashing red at me because I have not updated my kernel. Is it a good idea to update your kernel from your GUI? What would be the procedure for updating the kernel?

    Thanks!
    Mike

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    ive never done one from the gui, but i think that fedora/rh handle all that automaticaly. if you need instructions on compiling the kernel manualy, we can give those if you want them.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    24

    See what happens.

    I dont need to compile it manually, I was just wondering if the update program was going to eat my lunch attempting to upgrade the kernel in the GUI.

    I'll give apt a try on a booted console.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    'eat my lunch' is that a saying? or were you actualy gonna eat your lunch while watching it.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    24

    Hehe + Solution

    My bad - 'eat my lunch' is a saying.
    I figured out how to get it to work, if anyone else runs into this same quandary: (in RC2)

    Open a terminal in GUI:
    /sbin/init 3
    Drops out of the gui, then enter commands:
    su
    (enter password)
    yum update
    This in fact updates all of your packages, as Im pretty sure my outdated version of gnumeric was not required for the newer kernel version. Yum seems to be the program that Up2Date is the frontend for.

    Everything works fine now.

    Thanks!
    Mike

  7. #6
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    More or less, Yum is actualy newer and a separate program, but it usese the same rpm repositories and is (in my opinon) much better than up2date.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •