Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a novice for Linux. I have tried to boot the LFS kernel 2.6.11.12 from a SATA Hard drive. I have done the following steps to bring the Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

LFS Kernel on SATA drive: VFS: Cannot open root device "sda1" or unknown-block(0,0)

I am a novice for Linux. I have tried to boot the LFS kernel 2.6.11.12 from a SATA Hard drive. I have done the following steps to bring the Linux OS up.

I have used LFS live CD and a setup file to create two partitions sda1 and sda2 and copied the linux image along with my application onto sda1 and sda2 is left blank.
    I have modified the etc/fstab to include /dev/sda1 to be mounted as / (root).
    I have modified the boot/grub/menu.lst to include the following lines.
    root (hd0,0) ŗ one hard drive and first partition

kernel /boot/lfskernel-2.6.11.12 root=/dev/sda1 ŗ kernel image is in /dev/sda1 and is verified with grub command line by pressing TAB

Now when I rebooted the PC, it showed the following error.
    VFS: Cannot open root device "sda1" or unknown-block(0,0)

Please append a correct "root=" boot option

kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

I could understand that it is something related to loading File System but why it says cannot open root device /dev/sda1 as this partition is available and the grub itself gets loaded from this location only. I would be grateful if you could answer the following questions.

1. With this state, Can I confirm that the Linux kernel 2.6.11.12 has identified SATA hard drive (i.e., SATA driver support is available in the kernel)? Also I tried building the LFS kernel again with SATA related changes by reconfiguration and that also failed.

2. What is the problem with /dev/sda1? as the same procedure works fine with PATA hard drive (IDE).