Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am using the bash shell right now in RH 8.0, and I am a real newbie at all this. I am trying to understand which files control the general ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

difference between .bashrc and .bash_profile

I am using the bash shell right now in RH 8.0, and I am a real newbie at all this. I am trying to understand which files control the general environment variables. I thought it was .bashrc, but now I found another file .bash_profile that also does some Path initialization, and I was wondernig if somebody can tell me which one does what, and why there are apparently two different .profile type files. Obviously they both have their separate responsibilities, I just don't know what they are.

I am trying to setup my environment for using the J2EE SDK, which is why I need to know this. Thanks for the information guys.

Linux Enthusiast
    to be honest, this is something I was never completely clear on either. I think .bashrc is for whenever you start bash. .bash_profile is for whenever you start bash as a login shell. I think. google around for it, I am sure someone knows which is which.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Linux Guru
    Yes, that's basically true. .bashrc is only used when you start bash as a non-login shell. There are some other files and environment variables used, too.
    All the details are well documented in bash(1) under the INVOCATION section, however, so just look in there.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!