Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I am a Linux newbie. I installed Ubuntu (version 8.04) recently and I'm trying to set it up properly. When I installed Linux, I partitioned the hard drive following ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question about where to put shared files in a Linux system

Hello,

I am a Linux newbie. I installed Ubuntu (version 8.04) recently and I'm trying to set it up properly. When I installed Linux, I partitioned the hard drive following a recommendation that said to create a separate partition for the "home" directory, so I did it that way. So I created a 40 GB partition for the root directory and a 100 GB partition for the "home" directory. Anyway, now I want to use an application that will require about 20 GB of data files, and those files should be accessible to every user on the computer. So I don't know where to put those data files. I'm afraid that if I put them somewhere in the root directory, there won't be much space left (there's only 30 GB left now). Is "home" supposed to be used only for files that are private to every user? Like:

/home/user1
    /home/user2
    or could I create a /home/shared/...

I don't know if by creating a "shared" directory in "home" I'm violating some sort of Linux best practices.

Or maybe what I need to do is change the partition sizes (can I do that?) so that root is bigger and home is smaller.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

no need to resize partition

you can just create a folder on /home
    and change permissions for it using
    chmod -R 777 <folder-name>

PS: you need to be root or use sudo to do this.

Just Joined!
    Thanks. I will do that.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Hi, this is my first post to this forum!