Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new with Linux, can you tell me the general reasons why should I use Linux? Is linux a potential alternative OS?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

theory behind linux

I am new with Linux, can you tell me the general reasons why should I use Linux? Is linux a potential alternative OS?

There are hundreds of these all over the place, but I feel that it is expected that I give my 2 cents. Basicaly, Linux is the OS. Imagin never getting viruses, spyware or having to reboot your computer. Imagine all the software you could ever want...free. Imagine a system that is so intuitive that it actualy makes sense. Linux is so popular that without finacial incentive, it still grows everyday. The thing to rember is, Linux is an OS that was built to run for years and never reboot or freeze. And *nix based distros are the most common on servers around the world. The other thing, is linux utilizes sytem resoucse far better than windows. Finaly, Linuxis simply better written code, M$ is cobbled together and is so chock full of security holes that patches are released daily. Linux (while in a faster development cycle) releases changes that enhance performac, stability and saftey features. the Linux programmers plan for security risk, not react. In general a linux system is more stable and more powerful than windows. but dont take our word or it, try one yourself, many find that after a month or so, they dont boot windows anymore. If your more cautios try a live boot cd that wont touch your HD like knoppix. Go to distrowatch.com and see what they have to offer.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Linux Guru
    Well put, qub333. Linux is organic, the fresh air beyond the window.