Find the answer to your Linux question:
Linux newbie here. I have just installed Mandrake 10.0 on a LAN with two Windows XP Pro boxes. One of the XP boxes has a shared directory (viewable by the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to access Windows Drive from Linux

Linux newbie here. I have just installed Mandrake 10.0 on a LAN with two Windows XP Pro boxes. One of the XP boxes has a shared directory (viewable by the other XP box) called MUSIC which has mp3 files. I am running Apache on the Linux box and would like to create a virtual host that can access the mp3 files on the Windows XP share.

I know how to set up a virtual host on Apache. My question is how to make the MUSIC share (on the XP box) look like a part of the local Linux file system so I can appropriately reference it in the Apache httpd.conf file.

I have set up SAMBA on the Linux box, and I can read and write files from an XP box to the Linux box. I don't seem to be able to browse the Windows shares from the Linux box, however. (When I type smb:/ into Konqueror, I see the workgroup and the Windows machines, but when I click on either of the Windows machine names, I get an error: "Share could not be found on given server.")

Just Joined!

Just Joined!
    That seems to work, but I'm now having an Apache-related problem. (I'm trying to have a web browser be able to access the shared directory.)

I've mounted the windows share at /mnt/MUSIC, and added an alias to my Apache config file (alias /music /mnt/MUSIC), but when I try to use the web browser to access, I get an error saying: "You don't have permission to access / on this server."

When I examine the permissions of /mnt/MUSIC it looks like it should work. It's owned by root, but permissions are set as: rwxr-xr-x.

Any ideas?

Also, how do I unmount? When I try umount /mnt/MUSIC, I get an error about the device being busy.

thanks. --Jeff

Re: Mounting woes