Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
first off, let me say that I have never used samba before (if that is what I am supposed to be using) here is what I want to do... I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Enthusiast

samba configuration

first off, let me say that I have never used samba before (if that is what I am supposed to be using)

here is what I want to do...

I have two computers:

1 - win xp pro and red hat 7.3 - hda1=win xp pro, hdb1= fat32 with mp3's on it, hdb2+= rh 7.3
    2 - suse 8.1 on one 30G hd

basically I want to be able to share my mp3 files and a couple of folders on windows with suse. I don't care about sharing them with my red hat install since I have both of those drives mounted using fstab.
    I don't wanna turn a computer into a server - they are all workstation systems.

I was told I should do this thru samba. Is this the best/easiest way?
    How can I do this?
    I have already set things up in windows, and have designated the folders I would like to share as such.

Linux Guru
    Indeed, it is Samba you will want to use. Windows uses a protocol called SMB (Server Message Block) for file sharing, domain logins, name lookup, etc., etc. Linux, of course, doesn't implement that protocol natively, so it needs external programs to implement it. That is where Samba comes in.

Samba consists of two major parts; the server and the client.
    The server part consists of smbd and nmbd. nmbd implements the NMB sub-protocol of smb, which is used for name lookup, and smbd implements the main SMB protocol, used for file sharing etc.