Find the answer to your Linux question:
Well, I have been using linux for a few months and am totally amazed by it. After using Windows it feels like heaven to be given a system that allows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo or Linux From Scratch?

Well, I have been using linux for a few months and am totally amazed by it. After using Windows it feels like heaven to be given a system that allows me so much control. I want to learn every damn thing about this OS. I want to know what makes it so great and better than windows.

Of course, I understand that knowing "everything" will take a lot of time. I have read the fedora bible (fedora's the distro I am running) and I want to know where to go next. I was thinking if installing Gentoo or building LFS would be a good idea at this stage. Will it teach me the nuts and bolts of Linux?

I can install applications from the source code and I know a little bit of shell programming, have worked a little in Unix in college. I don't know PERL, can't even understand written code. I know C/C++ though and am learning Python. I am a computer undergrad, who unfortunately hasn't had to much experience with OSes yet.

So, what do you think? Would it be a good idea to try to install Gentoo or LFS? Or should I wait till I am more experienced? And what should I study or do in the time that I am waiting?

Thanks for the time.

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Gaining additional experience isn't a bad idea, but then again lots of new users have successfully installed Gentoo, and/or Linux From Scratch.

If you want a distribution that you can use as you learn, go with Gentoo. If you want to dig into the finest of details and don't mind tying your system up for a while to learn, go with LFS.

Just my own opinion, of course.
    oz