Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi ppl, I've been a windows java developer for about 5 years now. I've always used windows but with the new KDE 4.2 I finally decided to do a serious ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux distro recommendation

Hi ppl,

I've been a windows java developer for about 5 years now. I've always used windows but with the new KDE 4.2 I finally decided to do a serious try on linux.
    I use computers mainly for intense java development with eclipse, so I was seeking for a good linux distro for eclipse development. I'm currently trying kubuntu, but unfortunately, my linux noobness is getting in the way. Kubuntu currently ships with eclipse 3.2, but that's not what I want and I get pretty lost with anything that needs to be installed from outside the package manager, manly because I don't know where to put/install the package since the linux filesystem is a complete black box of mystery to me.
    So, is there any linux distro that would be more suitable for eclipse development? One that stays updated with eclipse versions?

Regards,
    Thiago Souza

Hi and Welcome !

There is nothing like 'A distro suitable for Java Development' because you can install any package in any distro and customize ( mostly ) it the way you want. You can install Eclipse in any Linux Distro easily.

Its really easy to install/update packages in Kubuntu. Have you tried Adept Package Manager? It fetches list of latest available packages on clicking Reload button and you can mark/install those easily. Your machine must have internet connection for that though.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Hi,