Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a complete Linux newbie and during my efforts to try and get to know Linux better i have tried customizing my desktop, which i have done successfully.......but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Acer Aspire One

Hi,

I am a complete Linux newbie and during my efforts to try and get to know Linux better i have tried customizing my desktop, which i have done successfully.......but eventually. I was adding the facility to switch the views of my desktop but before successfully completing it i managed to add several star like icons to the bottom right hand corner (where the power switch and battery level is) which say 'New Item - This item has not yet been configured'. I can not find out how to remove these so would appreciate it if anyone could shed some light on this as it is slowly driving me mad

Many thanks in advance.

What desktop environment are you using? Gnome, KDE? If you are using gnome you should just be able to right click and then left click delete. In kde you may have to unlock the widgets and then do it, depending on what version of KDE you're using
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17
    Dell Studio 17, Intel Graphics card, 4 gigs of RAM, E17

"The beauty in life can only be found by moving past the materialism which defines human nature and into the higher realm of thought and knowledge"

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your reply,

As i stated before i am new to linux however i have tried right clicking on the icon and nothing happens therefore i assume i must be using KDE. Not sure what version though. Any further info would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Sorry about that. Okay what distribution are you using (Kubuntu, OpenSuse, Fedora Core?)

Does your desktop look something or other like this:

http://behindkde.org/people/helio/images/kde1.png

or

http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/i/tr/cont...lt_desktop.jpg