Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
ok, allow me to preface this by saying that even though I'm a linux noob, this won't be another thread asking "what distro is the best" or any other question ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Post Can someone point me in the right direction?

ok, allow me to preface this by saying that even though I'm a linux noob, this won't be another thread asking "what distro is the best" or any other question that is sure to irritate.

Let me tell you my situation. I have a laptop, AMDx64. it has nvidia 7150m graphics and atheros 5006eg wireless.

I decided to check linux out after a long bit of curiosity. now let me tell you what I have used and why I no longer use it in the order it was tried. I'm hoping that someone can steer me in the right direction even if that direction is "linux is just not for you", so at any rate, my wife will stop yelling at me for burning up all the blank cd's.

ubuntu: this was my first. I really didn't like the idea that to make my atheros wifi work, I had to plug into lan, and download backports which I had no idea how to do, I was walked through it by a nice member of the ubuntu community.

then came mandriva: at first it wouldn't boot the liveCD and someone ended up telling me that for my video card, I had to give it a text only boot. then it worked and seemed awesome. wifi worked, my hp printer showed up automatically... then, I installed Nexuiz and my graphics just weren't good enough for the game so when I uninstalled it, it destroyed my installation of mandriva. the community gave me all kinds of (to me) complicated commands to type and I just got frustrated and unimpressed. linux was supposed to be so bulletproof.

downloaded fedora 10 and I can't even get that to boot! gives me some disc error. too much trouble period. reburned that cd a couple times.