Find the answer to your Linux question:
Can linux be installed on a formatted 20gb disk? Is this all it takes? I see SUSE and maybe one other which are sort of like Windows XP home. What ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

i am a NEWBIE!!!!

Can linux be installed on a formatted 20gb disk? Is this all it takes?

I see SUSE and maybe one other which are sort of like Windows XP home. What is the other?

I just may load one of my pcs with it and give it a go. If it works good, I'll spread it around to my other pcs.

I have 4 pcs here at home. All run Windows XP home. Seems like somethings always happening to one or the other. Each time, the shop want something like $75 to reload windows. One I'm working on has no windows, so that would be a scratch loading of $250. This deathgrip Microsoft has on their products is getting Old. And, before you know it, windows xp will be obsolete. So---Linux is looking good to me. I will try it and see how it goes.

Quote Originally Posted by rbig View Post
    Yes.

I see SUSE and maybe one other which are sort of like Windows XP home. What is the other?
    Ubuntu.
    I wouldn't call either of them "Windows XP like" though. Windows is windows-like -- GNU/Linux is UNIX-like.

I just may load one of my pcs with it and give it a go. If it works good, I'll spread it around to my other pcs.
    Yes. That's what I would recommend, too. Try whether it's your cup of tea as much as it's ours.
    Debian GNU/Linux -- You know you want it.

Quote Originally Posted by rbig

Hi and Welcome !

10-15GB space is enough for most of Linux distros. I would suggest you to try LiveCDs of different distros ( Ubuntu, Fedora, SuSe etc. ) and check which one suites you best.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First