Find the answer to your Linux question:
HI First of all I am a newbie to linux and compiling etc, but reasonably pc literate and trying to teach myself. I have been practicing compiling the kernel (I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Comiling messages and variable using gcc

HI

First of all I am a newbie to linux and compiling etc, but reasonably pc literate and trying to teach myself. I have been practicing compiling the kernel (I know bit extreme practice for a novice) but would like to understand some messages etc.

1. When using gcc it looks like it is passing variables such as -D__KERNEL__ or -DMODULES. From the help I can see the -D is a command for macros. The question I have is what are macros in this case, where are the defined etc? are they just varible substitutions (if so why not use parameters)

2. I get a message about string literal concatanation using __FUNCTION__ is deprication. I can understand that the source program is using a command the will be desupported eventually but can anyone explian this in detail. What should be used instead etc.

3 I have a feeling that these are c and c++ issues. Anyone know a good (simple starting point) for understanding c and c++

Thanks for any help

Linux User

Re: Comiling messages and variable using gcc

Quote Originally Posted by turls
    HI
    3 I have a feeling that these are c and c++ issues. Anyone know a good (simple starting point) for understanding c and c++

Thanks for any help
    http://home.twcny.rr.com/amantoan/cweb/Cindex.htm

that is a good tutorial

Linux Guru
    Well, to begin with, when compiling a C program (to a relocatable, not an executable), there are two major steps involved: preprocessing and compiling.