Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
hello all , I have just bought a new system ..Q9400 cpu,4 gig ram 1 ati vid , 1 tb hdrive.. Plan to install xp pro ( as backup) on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4

    32 or 64 question


    hello all , I have just bought a new system ..Q9400 cpu,4 gig ram 1 ati vid , 1 tb hdrive..

    Plan to install xp pro ( as backup) on a 400 gig partition and a distro of linux on the other 600 gig. I have dvd ,s of Ubuntu Ultimate 32 and 64 and Ubnutu 8 on cd. I did a bit of reading and the posts I found were recommending the 32 bit Ubuntu over the 64. I am looking for any help and all recomendations
    and thanks in advance

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    If you have both versions, it won't cost anything but some of your time to try both and see what works best for you and your hardware. I've been running 64-bit for the last 8 months or so, and haven't looked back.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Welcome to the forums points

    I'd install 64 bit ... 32 bit will not recognise all the RAM in the system. Support for 64 bit has been improving. 32 v 64 bit has been debated a few times ... if you have both give them a try.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru jmadero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,998
    I'd suggest 32 for sure. I have a pretty powerful machine as well, I have installed probably 10-15 distros, probably half of those I've installed the 64 version.....I always end up with more problems with it, some of my software need special instructions to get to work, etc...

    I think in the next year or so more software will create both version and it'll be worth trying. Until then, ESPECIALLY for a new user, I'd recommend a 32 bit, otherwise....you may just get frustrated
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17
    Dell Studio 17, Intel Graphics card, 4 gigs of RAM, E17

    "The beauty in life can only be found by moving past the materialism which defines human nature and into the higher realm of thought and knowledge"

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast Bemk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Oosterhout-NB, Netherlands
    Posts
    525
    My advice is try both, and choose the one that suits your hardware best, like Ozar says.

    On the RAM thing, I'm not sure but I thought the limit was 4 gigs, so it will just be able to allocate every piece of memory. If you had more RAM I'd say you should go for 64 bits to be able to use all the RAM.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks peoples .... I bought three of these machines , so I think I'll try one of each distro and see which works best ... Have one more qestion .. I put Asus P5Q
    motherboards in these .. and when checking the asus site for downloads I see there are 3 or 4 files for linux and about 18 for windows ... if I put all of these updates on do you know if they will mess the board up since I will use both linux and windows ?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Bemk View Post
    On the RAM thing, I'm not sure but I thought the limit was 4 gigs, so it will just be able to allocate every piece of memory.
    I thought the same ... I upgraded RAM on my laptop to 4GB and 32bit systems I tried would not recognise all the RAM, but the 64bit did

  8. #8
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,535
    It will depend on the kernel, I believe you need a 32 bit kernel with pae enabled to see more than 3gb. 64 bit kernels usually come with pae enabled by default.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  9. #9
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    It will depend on the kernel, I believe you need a 32 bit kernel with pae enabled to see more than 3gb. 64 bit kernels usually come with pae enabled by default.
    Yes, in order to use more than 3GB of RAM on a 32-bit version of Linux you'll need a specially-compiled kernel image, which will more than likely not be available on the disc. 64-bit Linux will recognize all 4GB out of the box.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #10
    Just Joined! undoIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    28
    I have been running 64bit for almost two years now and wouldn't even consider running 32bit. There might be some specific apps that don't work, but usually somebody comes up with a way to get the 32bit packages working in 64bit.

    I'd start with 64bit because of the advantages it has and if you run into problems specific to not being able to run some 32bit only apps then you can make the decision to reinstall 32bit. Chances are slim you will need to do that though.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •