Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have been a Windows Administrator for years as an occupation. I have been using a Mac at home since Vista came out. I would like to create a home ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Home Netowrk

I have been a Windows Administrator for years as an occupation. I have been using a Mac at home since Vista came out. I would like to create a home network using Virtual servers and Linux. Right now I have a Windows 2003 Server set as the Domain Controller and a Web/Application Server. But I want to go all Open Source and would like to add more controlls to monitor what my kids are doing on the internet.
    Any advice on distributions I should be using and documetation on how to do it would be great. I have not looked in to it to hard but really want to expand into the Linux world but need to make sure that everything I set up can support my Mac and my one Windows XP system I use for work.
    Thanks in advance for your assistance

Dru

Just Joined!
    Ubuntu is a great distrobution for crossing over from Windows... I didn't follow you on what you are asking here, but if you are looking for a solution that will allow you to Virtualize different OS's the take a look at Sun's free VM server. I have a Ubuntu 8.10 machine running several Virtual machines.

If this isn't what you had in mind post a little more detail and I will try and help if I can.

Just Joined!
    Thank you linlo68 for your responce. Right now I have a the Windows Servers running and i would like to replace them with Linux servers. I have never even thought of this before but really want to jump over and learn Linux. I am looking for Linux Distributions that I can use that would replace my Windows Domain Controller and Web/App Servers.