Find the answer to your Linux question:
Another dingbat question from the old man. I noticed that Red Hat and Fedora must be very similar to be in the same distro category. While I am very new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Red Hat/Fedora Ubuntu/Debian

Another dingbat question from the old man. I noticed that Red Hat and Fedora must be very similar to be in the same distro category. While I am very new to Ubuntu I see a lot of Debian in it. Is Ubuntu based on Debian? Is Fedora based on Red Hat? I am just wondering!!
    PCLinuxOS Gnome and PCLinuxOS Mate
    Linux user # 414321
    You Should Not Give In To Evils, But Proceed Ever More Boldly Against Them!! -from book six of Virgil's Aeneid
    Everything Within The Universe Is Related; We Are All Cousins!!

oz
    forum.guy
    Yes, you can read about Ubuntu and its Debian roots here:

Ubuntu - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

..and Fedora and its relation to Red Hat here:

Fedora (operating system) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    oz

Thanks Ozar for the links.
    PCLinuxOS Gnome and PCLinuxOS Mate
    Linux user # 414321
    You Should Not Give In To Evils, But Proceed Ever More Boldly Against Them!! -from book six of Virgil's Aeneid
    Everything Within The Universe Is Related; We Are All Cousins!!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Ubuntu is based on Debian but it is updated much more frequently. Debian is proud to be way stable but slow for updates, while Ubuntu tries to keep up to date with everything
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17
    Dell Studio 17, Intel Graphics card, 4 gigs of RAM, E17

"The beauty in life can only be found by moving past the materialism which defines human nature and into the higher realm of thought and knowledge"

Just Joined!