Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm very new to Linux and know nothing about installing Linux. For years, I have been discouraged about the fans running on full speed on an Imac under Linux. I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Dao
    Just Joined!

Linux on a Imac/PowerMac8,1/PowerPC G5?

I'm very new to Linux and know nothing about installing Linux. For years, I have been discouraged about the fans running on full speed on an Imac under Linux. I'm tempted to try looking into installing Linux on my Imac. What are my chances in making this work without the headaches for a newbie? Here is more info on my Imac:
    ---------------
    Machine Name: iMac G5
    Machine Model: PowerMac8,1
    CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.8 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 1.25 GB
    Bus Speed: 600 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.2.2f4
    Model: MATSHITADVD-R UJ-825
    Chipset Model: GeForce FX 5200--VRAM (Total): 64 MB
    --------------------

I also have a 4 GB and a 2 GB thumbdrive. Perhaps, I could install on a thumbdrive to make sure This will work before I do the full install on my Imac.

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I've never tried it myself, but Yellow Dog Linux seems to be a popular choice for the Mac:

Fixstars -- Optimized Solutions for Multi-Core Processors Cell, GPU; Linux for Cell, PLAYSTATION, PS3, QS22, and Mercury.

Maybe someone more in the know will respond with more info for you.
    oz

Dao
    Just Joined!