Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
Hello name is Andee and I am gonna be partition my second hard drive with Ubuntu to learn Linux. I choose Ubuntu cause I hear rumors that it helps get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52

    Welcome!


    Hello name is Andee and I am gonna be partition my second hard drive with Ubuntu to learn Linux. I choose Ubuntu cause I hear rumors that it helps get use to Linux.

    Any tips after (on top of reading) installing?

    I also have a friend who has said if (since I am dual booting) I have adobe products on my windows OS it will mess things up. About Adobe writing its serial numbers to the MBR.

    Also will there be problems if I put it on my second HD or should I do my first?

    First HD has my Windows on it (632GB free of 698GB)
    Second HD is storage (675GB free of 931GB)

    Also I figured 20GB should be enough for Ubuntu distro?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,036
    Also I figured 20GB should be enough for Ubuntu distro?
    Should be Ok. Since you haven't mentioned what version of Windows. I just went with #7. Howdy and Welcome and Happy Trails, Rok

    http://lifehacker.com/5403100/dual+b...erfect-harmony
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52
    So nothign to worry about my adobe products messing up the MBR??

    Yea i have W7 installed already. 64 bit PC too.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,036
    Haven't a clue on that.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    So nothign to worry about my adobe products messing up the MBR??
    Note at all. Adobe products can't write in MBR because code and instructions are pre-defined for every single byte of MBR. There is no space for any application in it.
    Even Windows OS ( any version ) doesn't write anything in MBR except a single default redirector pointing to Boot Sector of its main partition ( C: Driver or drive where you have installed Windows OS ).
    Instead of MBR, Windows OS installs its Boot Loader in Boot Sector if its main partition.

    Don't worry about Adobe serials or anything.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52
    Well everything installed awesome. I got the resolutions of my two monitors. I update, it asks me if I want to leave my grub as is (I guess an grub update??), than continues. I restart now I log back in and Ubuntu won't let me go anywhere.

    I have many small squares that limit my mouse.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52
    Okay Ubuntu is not working for me. I can't even get it to display anymore. How can I install fedora or something over it without messing up the boot?

    I say Fedora cause I have used it before on a friends PC.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Just re-install it over existing Partition of Ubuntu. Fedora installer will remove Ubuntu and setup dual boot itself.

    Select Manual Partitioning in Partition section, select ext4 partition and assign it / mount point. Continue Installation. Fedora installer will detect SWAP and Windows OS partitions.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    52
    Okay got both Windows and Fed working.

    Now to figure out a few things.

    To do list:
    1) Install 64 Bit Flash
    2) Get the panels from left screen to right screen while keeping the mouse moving between the two on adjoining sides.
    3) Java, do we need that?
    4) Get WINE working
    5) Vent Working
    6) I have a GTX260 (By Nvidia), so how come I can't enable desktop effects?
    7) Change Boot Load Order/Priority

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    1) Install 64 Bit Flash
    2) Get the panels from left screen to right screen while keeping the mouse moving between the two on adjoining sides.
    3) Java, do we need that?
    4) Get WINE working
    5) Vent Working
    6) I have a GTX260 (By Nvidia), so how come I can't enable desktop effects?
    Which version of Fedora are you using?

    7) Change Boot Load Order/Priority
    You have to edit /boor/grub/grub.conf file. Open it with root privileges.
    Code:
    su -
    nano /boot/grub/grub.conf
    Count title lines and set default value to the title line number which you want to set as default. Start counting from zero.

    Let say, Windows OS title is 4th title line grub.conf file. Set default value to 3.
    Code:
    default=3
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •